Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Tesco APN replaces 48 - no data working

pat
Buddy
Posts: 15
‎31-03-2018 02:57 PM

This happened twice in 1 week on my wifes phone. Samsung Galaxy S5

 

Got this reply from 48

We're aware of Tesco taking over APN settings. They've been doing this in most Android handsets and we're unsure why they're doing that. We've already raised a case with HQ to get in touch with Tesco to find out why they're doing that and to stop it. This is still under investigation.

 

Saw someone else reported this in 2016, so I wouldn't hold my breath for a quick (or slow) fix.

 

Thought this crap only happened while abroad..

Reply
0 Likes

Re: Tesco APN replaces 48 - no data working

The Legend
Posts: 13,647
‎31-03-2018 03:16 PM
Make sure that the phone has the latest version of the Samsung software available for that model.
Check the Samsung support site for details.

Can you simply edit the Tesco APN settings to set them to those required for 48?

http://community.48months.ie/t5/The-Knowledgebase/My-Internet-is-not-working/ta-p/45928

Hope this helps.


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Xiaomi Redmi Note 3
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Tesco APN replaces 48 - no data working

The Legend
Posts: 13,647
‎31-03-2018 10:00 PM

Did that help at all @pat?



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Tesco APN replaces 48 - no data working

pat
Buddy
Posts: 15
‎31-03-2018 11:27 PM

Thanks for that idea, I was deleting and creating a new APN. 

Did it just now, tesco had come in again today, will have to wait a few days to see how it goes.

Reply
0 Likes

Re: Tesco APN replaces 48 - no data working

The Legend
Posts: 13,647
‎01-04-2018 12:11 AM

I think I've done this before and it worked OK.

I don't remember having a case of Tesco APN settings "taking over" like you describe.

But then Samsung Galaxy phones seem to cause almost as many problems as iPhones due to the stupid way that Samsung/Apple seem to do things.

 

Hope this helps.



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Tesco APN replaces 48 - no data working

pat
Buddy
Posts: 15
‎01-04-2018 10:43 PM

That didn't work, APN back to tescomobile again today. 

Reply
0 Likes

Re: Tesco APN replaces 48 - no data working

The Legend
Posts: 13,647
‎01-04-2018 10:49 PM

That's a shame.

I don't understand why that happens or why 48 support can explain or fix the problem. 

Sorry that I can't be of any more help...



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Reply
0 Likes

Announcements
If you haven't already registered, now is a good time to do so. Register now >>
Order a free SIM
Earn some extra credit or cash with MatesRates!
Unlock your phone
Ask the community