Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Re: Signal Abroad

Average Joe
Posts: 3
‎01-08-2015 07:47 PM

Hi,

 

Yes, this did work. Thank you so much for all your help.

 

Kind regards,

 

Richard

Reply
0 Likes

Re: Signal Abroad

The Legend
Posts: 13,868
‎01-08-2015 07:50 PM
Great. Glad it helped.


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Micromax A310
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Traveling abroad

[ Edited ]
The Legend
Posts: 13,868
‎13-08-2015 09:06 AM

Your 48 numbers will work there.
You need membership but your membership allowances will not cover any services while abroad.
You'll need cash credit to cover outgoing and incoming calls and outgoing texts unless you buy EU roaming add-ons.
If you have EU roaming calls add-ons then incoming calls will be free and calls between your mobiles will use the bundled mins.

Ditto for calls to Irish or French mobiles/landlines.

But obviously you get limited minutes on the add-ons.
48 don't support data roaming abroad so WhatsApp will only work on WiFi.
If you are going to use the mobiles a lot then I think you might be better off getting two local sims for the trip.
Eg see here:


http://prepaid-data-sim-card.wikia.com/wiki/France

In that case you will obviously have to use the new French number for the trip, your 48 sim/number will not be active (unless you have dual sim phones) and anybody calling from Ireland will have to pay for an international mobile call.

Hope this helps.

Ps If you have iPhones then make sure to read this

http://community.48months.ie/t5/Most-Popular-Questions/iPhone-abroad-issue/td-p/36862/jump-to/first-...



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Micromax A310
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Traveling abroad

[ Edited ]
The Legend
Posts: 13,868
‎13-08-2015 09:18 AM

Sorry about the typos.
I hate posting from a phone or tablet... :-(

 

Edit: typos fixed.



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Micromax A310
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Traveling abroad

The Legend
Posts: 13,868
‎14-08-2015 08:22 AM
Did that help at all?


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Micromax A310
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Traveling abroad

Average Joe
Posts: 3
‎14-08-2015 08:26 AM
No not really
Posted from Bush 5 Smartphone
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Traveling abroad

The Legend
Posts: 13,868
‎14-08-2015 08:32 AM
What didn't help?
I've explained how things work in this context and addressed all of your questions.
Did you not understand some of my reply or something?


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Micromax A310
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Traveling abroad

Average Joe
Posts: 3
‎14-08-2015 08:36 AM
Yea like will buying a membership be useless then as we won't be able to use it in France.
Posted from Bush 5 Smartphone
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Traveling abroad

The Legend
Posts: 13,868
‎14-08-2015 09:45 AM
Well it's not useless because if you want to use your 48 number there at all then you still need it - otherwise things won't work at all.
But the membership bundled calls, texts and data allowance don't cover services while abroad and you need cash credit it EU roaming add-ons.
I explained all this above.


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Micromax A310
Reply
0 Likes

Re: No service abroad

Anon
Posts: 0
‎01-10-2015 12:06 AM
I have just arrived in Warsaw today and even though I have loads of credit and EU roaming minutes I can get no service. I have an iPhone 5.tried everything. Can anyone help
Posted from Apple iPhone
Reply
0 Likes

Announcements
If you haven't already registered, now is a good time to do so. Register now >>
Order a free SIM
Earn some extra credit or cash with MatesRates!
Unlock your phone
Ask the community