Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Internet says roaming Is on

luk
Average Joe
Posts: 3
‎20-04-2016 01:41 PM
Calls and texts work fine but I can't use my Internet... Says I'm on roaming even though I haven't left the country... Please help...
Posted from Vodafone Smart Ultra 6
Reply
0 Likes

Accepted Solutions

Re: Internet says roaming Is on

The Legend
Posts: 14,693
‎20-04-2016 02:19 PM

You need to configure your internet/APN settings for internet to work.

Follow the instructions here:

 

http://community.48months.ie/t5/Need-Help/Internet/m-p/34493#M12560

 

If it still doesn't work then post back with details of your settings for review - screenshots ideally.

 

48 is a "virtual" network operating on the Three network so some/most phones will think that they are roaming even when they are not. This is not a problem, does not involve any extra costs or issues and can simply be ignored.

Some phones/operating systems have an option to enable national data roaming to get rid of the "R" on the signal bars but where that option is not available you just have to ignore the issue as it's innocuous.

 

Hope this helps.



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.

View solution in context

Reply
0 Likes

All Replies

Re: Internet says roaming Is on

The Legend
Posts: 14,693
‎20-04-2016 02:19 PM

You need to configure your internet/APN settings for internet to work.

Follow the instructions here:

 

http://community.48months.ie/t5/Need-Help/Internet/m-p/34493#M12560

 

If it still doesn't work then post back with details of your settings for review - screenshots ideally.

 

48 is a "virtual" network operating on the Three network so some/most phones will think that they are roaming even when they are not. This is not a problem, does not involve any extra costs or issues and can simply be ignored.

Some phones/operating systems have an option to enable national data roaming to get rid of the "R" on the signal bars but where that option is not available you just have to ignore the issue as it's innocuous.

 

Hope this helps.



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet says roaming Is on

luk
Average Joe
Posts: 3
‎20-04-2016 02:35 PM

I had no problem before it was working fine....2 days ago it randomly stopped working...all my setting were correct...

Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet says roaming Is on

luk
Average Joe
Posts: 3
‎20-04-2016 02:43 PM
i messed around with the setting and managed to get it to work...thank you for the help Smiley Happy
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet says roaming Is on

The Legend
Posts: 14,693
‎20-04-2016 02:47 PM

Something must have changed if it worked before but then stopped working.

Did your phone get a software update or did somebody mess with the settings?

Which settings did you have to change to get it working again?

The most common ones that are wrong are Authentication type (should be left blank/unset and not set to PAP, CHAP etc.) and APN type (should be set to * and if that doesn't work then default,mms,supl should work).

Glad you got it sorted anyway.



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Reply
1 Like

Announcements
Welcome to the 48Community!

To take part in the discussions or to post your own question, you'll need to register so If you haven't already registered, now is a good time to do so. Register now >>

While you're here, check out our "Featured Topics" below.

Our Troubleshooting Guide and Knowledgebase contain help and support articles and popular questions to help you as a 48 customer.

Order a free SIM
Earn some extra credit or cash with MatesRates!
Unlock your phone
Ask the community