Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Internet

Average Joe
Posts: 4
‎13-01-2018 05:04 PM
APN keeps changing to Tesco mobile causing no internet access. Why?
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

The Legend
Posts: 14,858
‎13-01-2018 06:23 PM
Edit and rename the Tesco APN(s) or delete them and create a new one for 48.

https://community.48months.ie/t5/The-Knowledgebase/My-Internet-is-not-working/ta-p/45928/jump-to/fir...

If that doesn't help then it's probably your phone and you'll need to contact 48 support for more advice.
What make and model of phone?
Samsung Galaxy by any chance?
They have an unfortunate and annoying habit of spontaneously losing/resetting their internet settings and unfortunately Samsung don't seem to care enough to fix it.
It's a problem that has been reported many times worldwide.

Hope this helps.


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Xiaomi Redmi Note 3
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

Average Joe
Posts: 4
‎13-01-2018 06:32 PM
Thanks for that Dayler. Current phone is Samsung S8. The same thing happened with my previous phone an LG G3. It's kinda funny that both 48 months and Tesco Mobile use the Three network.
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

The Legend
Posts: 14,858
‎13-01-2018 07:14 PM
Some phones misidentify 48 as Tesco but if the internet settings are correct then it shouldn't matter.
If it helps keeps happening that the settings get lost or revert to the incorrect ones then you'll need to contact 48 support.
You didn't clarify if internet still works even if the APN is named "Tesco".

Hope this helps.


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Xiaomi Redmi Note 3
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

The Legend
Posts: 14,858
‎14-01-2018 01:03 PM
Did that help at all @119peter?


I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Xiaomi Redmi Note 3
Reply
0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Internet

Average Joe
Posts: 4
‎14-01-2018 01:34 PM
Hi Dalyer, thanks for your interest. Nope internet doesn't work when it flips the APN to Tesco Mobile AND deletes 48Months.
Posted from Samsung SM-G950F
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

[ Edited ]
The Legend
Posts: 14,858
‎14-01-2018 01:40 PM

Can you just edit the Tesco APN with the 48 settings or do the settings also get reset?
Sounds like a problem with the phone's software.
Is the phone up to date with the latest software update from Samsung?
If so and the problem persists then I think you need to contact Samsung or the seller of the phone.

Hope this helps.



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Posted from Xiaomi Redmi Note 3
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

The Legend
Posts: 14,858
‎15-01-2018 01:09 PM

Did that help at all @119peter?



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

Average Joe
Posts: 4
‎16-01-2018 08:51 PM

Hi Dalyer,

 

Since the issue arose on my old LG and one the new S8, I think the issue must be with the network software. Maybe something like the routine sending out of permissions to mobiles sharing the network. 

 

As you suggested earlier, maybe Tesco Mobile still have my mobile number on some list - even though it's several years since I was a customer of Tesco Mobile.

 

Thanks again for your interest.

 

Peter B

Reply
0 Likes

Re: Internet

The Legend
Posts: 14,858
‎16-01-2018 10:59 PM

I'm not really sure why 48 support can't explain this if it happened with two different makes/models of phones.

I doubt that the network is pushing any settings out other than if requested via the Tweakker site.

Certainly none of the many phones that I have ever used or set up on 48 have received settings (even from the Tweakker site which has never worked for me personally!).

Sorry I can't really be of any more help here - it's annoying. :-(



I am not a 48 employee so if you need to contact 48 support then use option 3 or the chat facility here.
Reply
0 Likes

Announcements
Welcome to the 48Community!

To take part in the discussions or to post your own question, you'll need to register so If you haven't already registered, now is a good time to do so. Register now >>

While you're here, check out our "Featured Topics" below.

Our Troubleshooting Guide and Knowledgebase contain help and support articles and popular questions to help you as a 48 customer.

Order a free SIM
Earn some extra credit or cash with MatesRates!
Unlock your phone
Ask the community